Awards and Grants



Check the links below to find the latest winners for book and author awards. If your young adult book or author award is not listed or needs to be updated, send the link in an email to List is currently being updated.


ALA Amelia Bloomer List

ALA Coretta Scott King Awards


ALA Rainbow List

ALA Schneider Family Book Award

ALA Stonewall Book Award

ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award

ALAN Award

ALSC John Newbery Award

ALSC May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture

ALSC Mildred L. Batchelder Award

ALSC Pura Belpre Author Award

ALSC Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

American Indian Youth Literature Award

AASL Collaborative School Library Media Award

Arizona Grand Canyon Reader Award: The Grand Canyon Reader Award is a reader award program for students in Arizona. Students vote annually on their favorite book in the following categories: Picture, Non-Fiction, Intermediate, Tween, and Teen.

Audio Publishers Association  Audies


Branford Boase Award: The BBA was set up to reward the most promising new writers and their editors, as well as to reward excellence in writing and in publishing. The Award is made annually to the most promising book for seven year-olds and upwards by a first-time novelist.


California Young Reader Medal

Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book Award

Children’s Choice Book Award

Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award


Delaware Diamonds

Doug Wright Award


Edgar Award

Eisner Awards

Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award


Florida Book Award

Florida Teens Read


Georgia Peach Book Award for Teen Readers: The Georgia Peach Book Award works to promote reading and literacy skills in teens. Each year, a committee of school and public librarians reads widely to choose a list of twenty nominated titles. Then young adults choose books from among that list to read and rate. The books that earn the highest number of readers and ratings become the Peach Book and Honor Books.

Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes: The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes celebrates inspiring, public-spirited young people from diverse backgrounds all across North America. Each year, the Barron Prize honors 25 outstanding young leaders ages 8 to 18 who have made a significant positive difference to people and the environment.

Golden Duck Awards for Excellence in Children’s Science Fiction Literature: The Golden Duck Awards, which are designed to encourage science fiction literature for children, have been given annually since 1992. The awards are presented every year at Worldcon or the North American Science Fiction Convention (NASFiC). There are several awards given each year, most carrying a small cash stipend. Winners are selected by a group of teachers, librarians, parents, high-tech workers, and reviewers.

Green Earth Book Award: The Green Earth Book Award is the nation’s first environmental stewardship book award for children and young adult books.


Henrietta Branford Writing CompetitionThe writing competition for young writers is open to any young writer under the age of 19.

Hugo Award: The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.


IBPA Benjamin Franklin Digital Award: The Benjamin Franklin Digital Awards honors innovation in electronic book publishing by individuals and organizations of all sizes, including publishers, software developers, designers, manufacturers, institutions, and technology leaders.

Illinois High School Reader’s Choice Award: Abraham Lincoln Award: The Abraham Lincoln Readers’ Choice Award winner is awarded to the book from that year’s master list that earns the highest number of student votes.

Illinois “Read for a Lifetime” Award: Read for a Lifetime, sponsored by Jesse White, Secretary of State and State Librarian, and the Illinois Center for Book, is the first statewide reading program to target high school students, was designed to promote the enjoyment of reading by encouraging students to read both classic and contemporary literature, and rewarding them for their effort.

In the Margins: Library Services for Youth in Custody

Iowa Teen Book Award

Irish Literary Awards: The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards brings together the entire literary community – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers, and librarians – to recognize and celebrate the very best of Irish literary talent.


Jane Addams Award: The Jane Addams Children’s Book Award annually recognizes children’s books of literary and aesthetic excellence that effectively engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people.

John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Essay Contest


Kentucky Bluegrass Award


Louisiana’s Young Reader’s Choice Award


Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award

Michigan Thumbs Up! Award

Missouri Gateway Readers Award


National Book Award for Young People’s Literature

New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association Books of the Year

New Hampshire Isinglass Teen Read Award

New Hampshire Teen Reader’s Choice Award

New Jersey Garden State Teen Book Awards

New York Empire State Award

New York Times Notable Children’s Books

Next Generation Indie Book Awards

Notable Wisconsin Author


Ohio Buckeye Teen Book Award


Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship

Pennsylvania Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award

Phoenix Award


Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Award

Rhode Island Teen Book Award


Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction


Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Vermont Green Mountain Book Award


Wisconsin Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award

World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Awards


YALSA Alex Awards

YALSA Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award

YALSA Fabulous Films for Young Adults

YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens

YALSA/ABC-CLIO/Greenwood Service to Young Adults Achievement Award

YALSA Margaret A. Edwards Award

YALSA Michael L. Printz Award

YALSA Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production

YALSA Outstanding Books for the College Bound

YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults

YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

YALSA Teens Top Ten

YALSA Top Ten Best Books for Young Adults

YALSA Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens

YALSA Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers

YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award

YALSA WrestleMania Reading Challenge


Grants and Scholarships

Check the links below for grants and scholarships toward library and educational services for teens. If your grant or scholarship is not listed, please send the link to


AASL Innovative Reading Grant

ALA Emerging Leaders

ALA  Awards, Grants, and Scholarships

ALA Scholastic Library Publishing National Library Week Grant

ALA Spectrum Scholar

ALAN Foundation Research Grants

ALAN Gallo Grant

ALSC/Candlewick Press Light the Way: Outreach to the Underserved Grant


Broad Prize for Urban Education

BWI/YALSA Collection Development Grant


Discus Awards


Frances Henne/YALSA/VOYA Research Grant

Future City Competition


We the People Bookshelf Grant


YALSA Conference Grants

YALSA Great Books Giveaway

YALSA Library Advocacy Day Stipend

YALSA MAE Award for Best Literature Program for Teens

YALSA Young Adult Literature Symposium Stipends



  1. Linda Auclair says:

    Here’s a link to the site for NH’s Teen Reader’s Choice Award:

  2. Thank you, Linda. The link is added!

Leave a Reply